St. James Plaindealer - St. James, MN
  • Rain doesn’t delay Railroad Days

  • The Railroad Days celebration continued throughout the weekend despite spotty rain storms and flash flood warnings. Parade units had to weather the storm Saturday in order to make their way from one side of the route to the other through, at times, a very heavy downpour. Though it rained on the parade, most of the weekend was warm, sunny and dry.
    • email print
  • Rain didn't dampen the spirits of those attending the 2013 Railroad Days celebration.
    Beginning with the Taste of St. James on Tuesday, June 18 and finishing with the raffle drawing Sunday, June 23 – visitors and residents of St. James enjoyed a weekend full of fun activities.
    Children enjoyed inflatables and games which were available in downtown St. James. Also taking place downtown was the classic car, truck, tractor and motorcycle show, filled with dozens of vehicles.
    See photos of all the Railroad Days events online at the Plaindealer website. Here are the results of other competitions that took place over the Railroad Days weekend:
    Pedal Pull Winners
    During one of the warmer points of Saturday afternoon, the kiddie Pedal Pull competition took place with eight age grouped categories.
    Children competed against one another to see who could pull a trailer with weights furthest.
    In the 4-year-old category, Ehrich Knaack of St. James won the event with a pull of 26.6 feet. Coming in second was Noah Heckman of Fairmont and in third was Zach Baumann of Chanhassen.
    At 5 years old, Wyatt Tripp of St. James won with a pull of 35.7 feet. Coming in second was Brandon Hector of Fairmont and third was Katelyn Friesen of St. James.
    The 6-year-old winner was Dylan Armstrong of Lafeyette with a pull of 28.11 feet. Coming in second was Aidan Bandall of North Mankato followed by Denis Campbell of St. James in third.
    In the 7-year-old category, Lilyana Aquilar of St. James won the event with a pull of 21.2 feet. Coming in second was Levi Miest and in third was Abbie Wigen, both of St. James.
    The winner of the 8-year-old division was Kevin Bolte of Odin with a pull of 22 feet. Following Bolte in second place was Bradyn Romsdahl of Comfrey and in third place was Joshua Carreon of St. James.
    Nine-year-old winners were Adam Heckman of Fairmont with a pull of 18.1 feet, followed by Dylen Carreon in second and Collin Harbitz in third, both of St. James.
    In the 10-year-old category Anna Aquilar took first place with a pull of 16.4 feet. followed by Taytem Tripp who took second, both of St. James. Coming in third was Isiah Romsdahl of Miami, Fl.
    In the final category of the afternoon, Austin Kelso of Lake Mills took first place in the 11-year-old category with a pull of 32.9 feet. Coming in second was Matthew Heckman of Fairmont, followed by Kaylee Romsdahl of Comfrey.
    Parade Battle of the Band Results
    With eight high school bands competing in two classes, the St. James Parade had plenty of music to offer those willing to sit through the rain.
    Winning the Class A title with a total score of 64.6 was St. Francis followed closely by Fairmont who scored 63.1 – good enough for second place.
    Page 2 of 3 - In the Class AA category, the Mankato 77 Lancers took home the first prize and were named grand champion with an overall score of 82.7. Following Mankato in second place was Osseo (80.2) and in third place Alexandria (76.8).
    Also marching, but not competing, were the St. James Band and the area Monster Band.
    The parade was filled, with more than 100 units and large crowds throughout the route. You can find video of the event on the Plaindealer website.
    This was the first year in which a triathlon took place in St. James. There were 46 individuals competing with 15 separate teams also joining in the fun, adding up to more than 90 competitors.
    The weather cooperated for the event, after a scare the night before with storms raging until 5:30 a.m. The races started on schedule and individuals swam, biked and ran their way to the finish line.
    Coming in first overall in the male category of the race was Matthew Busch, a 42-year-old out of Mankato. He ran a time of 57:2.
    Coming in first in the female division was Nicole Maloney, a 32-year-old from Truman, Minn. She ran a time of 1:13:50.
    The team results finished with Team Dahl on top followed by The Blondies.
    Other notable finishers from St. James include:
    Cheyanne Bowers, first in women 1-19 age group.
    Mariah Koch, second in women 1-19 age group.
    Simon Beck, first in men 1-19 age group.
    Marie Reuter, second in women 20-29 age group.
    Missy Nachreiner, first in women 30-39 age group.
    Derrick Miest, second in men 30-39 age group.
    Nona Runge, first in women 50-59 age group.
    Steve Pitcher, first in men 60+ age group.
    Raffle Results
    Raffle and button winners were announced Sunday afternoon. Winning button numbers were as follows:
    54 – $25 Cash
    167 – Two MN Zoo Tickets
    163 – Two Twins Tickets w/ Room at University Hotel
    634 – Two Tickets to Fairmont Raceway
    237 – Two Noah's Ark Tickets
    91 – $25 Cash
    478 – RR Day's T-Shirt
    56 – Two MN Zoo Tickets
    410 – Two Fairmont Raceway Tickets
    517 – Two Tickets to Nickelodeon Universe and Moos Mt Mini Golf
    503 – RR Day's Hoodie
    522 – RR Days Cap
    720 – $25 Cash
    678 – Two Fairmont Raceway Tickets
    168 – Two Twins Tickets w/ Room at University Hotel
    53 – Two Noah's Ark Tickets
    348 – $25 Cash
    307 – Two MN Zoo Tickets
    653 – Two Nickelodeon University and two Moose Mt.Minni Golf
    187 – Two Fairmont Raceway Tickets
    Page 3 of 3 - 339 – RR Day Print
    435 – RR Days T-Shirt
    167 – RR Days Tank Top
    626 – RR Days Cap
    150 – RR Days T-Shirt
    The winners of the raffle were as follows:
    Cory Becker – $2,000
    John Becker – $1,000
    Kay Sieg – $500
    Stan Luther – $100
    Tom Evensvold – $100
    Deb Melheim – $100
    Kurt Rotert – $100
    Ethan Hildebrandt – $100
    Mike Oanes – $100
    Ryan Schmidt – $100
    Gary Hanson – $100
    Larry Baarson – $100
    Eileen Ulmer – $100
    Ron Nett – $100
    Gabe Solonek – $100
    Curt Leimer – $100
    Robert Luther – $100
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar