Though the eyes of many were focused on a truly special Major League Baseball Hall of Fame class being inducted in Cooperstown Sunday, St. James hosted a HOF induction of their own the night prior, when the latest class was inducted into the St. James Wrestling Hall of Fame Saturday night.

This year’s inductees were: Jake Hodgkinson, Darrell Sohn, Josh Olson, Jason Lindquist, John Deinhart, Jim Rognlie, Keith Benson, Dwight Burman, Ryan Rentz, and the Harlan Hultgren family.

Also on Saturday night, the “Silver Anniversary” 1989 state championship team was introduced by Mark Kulseth, a member of that squad. Kulseth said the team bonded over hating Hildebrandt, because he made their lives so difficult, but they realized later his prodding was for their own good.

Kulseth also said, when that year’s Saints’ team went into visiting gyms, it was silent, because “other teams were afraid of us.”

The St. James Wrestling HOF was created in 2006 by the 50th Anniversary Committee, and the inaugural class was inducted in 2007. Counting Saturday’s inductees, there are 38 members on the HOF.

For the rest of this story, including quotes from the inductees and their presenters, please see the July 31 print edition of the St. James Plaindealer.