November 5th at the Presbyterian Church the St. James volleyball team put an official cap on their season with their annual post season banquet to honor this years team. The Saints were coming off a Big South Conference title in 2015, but 2016 was a different story. St. James finished the season with a 6-21 record before losing to the second seeded Pipestone Arrows in the first round of the playoffs.

At the end of every year at the Volleyball Banquet a number of different individual awards are handed out. The Most Valuable Player award went to Desirae Mortenson for her play in the middle all season, she also won the Best Offensive Player award on the team as well. Winning Best Defensive Player was Nora Schmidt who was amongst the leaders on the team in digs. Kayla Hanson earned the Most Dedicated Player with her hard work throughout the year. Bailey Schultze polished her game this year winning Most Improved Player. The best newcomer the team had this year was Allison Wolle winning Rookie of the Year. Finally Hailey Sagehorn earned the award of the Most “Inspiring” Player.

In addition to the awards that were distributed at the banquet there were also players recognized for other awards. Mortenson was the lone All Conference player for the Saints with Kayla Hanson earning All Conference Honorable Mention.
The Saints also had an extremely good year in the classroom finishing with a team GPA of 3.88, which was good enough for Academic All State- Team Gold. Hailey Sagehorn, Elizabeth Asendorf, and Desirae Mortenson all earned Individual Academic All State.