Watonwan County Toward Zero Deaths Safe Roads Coalition, local law enforcement, EMS and first responders, county fire departments, towing companies and Minnesota Department of Transportation join forces to remind motorists to move over with the arrival of spring weather, increasing travel and road construction.

What:   Flashing lights mean slow down and move over. By ignoring the Ted Foss Move Over law Minnesotans endanger the lives of law enforcement, emergency workers and road crews assisting the public and improving the roads.

 To educate motorists about the importance of moving over, south central Minnesota regional law enforcement officers, emergency medical service providers, county fire departments. Watonwan County Toward Zero Deaths Safe Roads Coalition, towing companies and the Minnesota Department of Transportation will hold a news conference.

Minnesota established the Ted Foss Move Over law in honor of Corporal Foss, a 15 year veteran of the State Patrol, who was hit and killed by a passing vehicle in August of 2000 during a traffic stop on the shoulder of interstate 90 in Winona.

The law not only keeps emergency workers safe, it also keeps motorists from crashing into stopped vehicles.

 When:  9 a.m., Saturday, March 25

 Where:  MnDOT Truck Station

               1513 7th Avenue S.

               St James, MN


·         Fire Chief Jason Monnens, St. James Fire Department.

·         Mark Griffith, Executive Director, South Central Minnesota EMS Regional System.

·         Hear stories from first responders/law enforcement on close calls with motorists who failed to move over.

 Why:      The Ted Foss Move Over law is designed to keep those working on the side of the road and motorists safe. On the roadway with two or more lanes, motorists must keep a full lane away when passing a stopped ambulance, fire truck, tow truck, road repair or law enforcement vehicle.

All citizens are asked to make a personal pledge to always move over and slow down to make Minnesota roadways safer for everyone.

The South Central Minnesota Toward Zero Deaths program brings area law enforcement, public health educators, engineers and emergency medical and trauma services together to reduce the number of traffic fatalities and severe injuries to zero in south central Minnesota. The 13-county area encompasses:  Blue Earth, Brown, Cottonwood, Faribault, Jackson, Le Sueur, Martin, Nicollet, Nobles, Rock, Sibley, Waseca and Watonwan counties.